Sunday, February 14, 2010

38.Spiritual Significance of Five Kakars-Sikh symbols Part V


Kachera - Specially designed cotton underwear which although gives natural comfort and is dignified but is at the same time is reflective of modesty and high moral character.
The message of kachera is to live a life that makes Sikh pure.The kachehra is for making the Sikh rises above the five vikars (weaknesses of human personality). The five vikars are kama (lust), karodh(anger), lobh(greed), moha(attachment) and ahankar(egoity).These are often called evils , sins or defects. But still the fact is these are part of human personality and are obstruction in the sikh’s pursuit of spiritual path. These are hindrances which blind the mental vision and make concentration difficult. Apart from these let us see what Guruji tells us about other hindrances.

ਪਉੜੀ ॥
ਸੂਰਬੀਰ ਵਰੀਆਮ ਕਿਨੈ ਨ ਹੋੜੀਐ ॥ਫਉਜ ਸਤਾਣੀ ਹਾਠ ਪੰਚਾ ਜੋੜੀਐ ॥
ਜਿਣਿ ਜਿਣਿ ਲੈਨ੍ਹ੍ਹਿ ਰਲਾਇ ਏਹੋ ਏਨਾ ਲੋੜੀਐ ॥
ਤ੍ਰੈ ਗੁਣ ਇਨ ਕੈ ਵਸਿ ਕਿਨੈ ਨ ਮੋੜੀਐ ॥
ਭਰਮੁ ਕੋਟੁ ਮਾਇਆ ਖਾਈ ਕਹੁ ਕਿਤੁ ਬਿਧਿ ਤੋੜੀਐ ॥
ਗੁਰੁ ਪੂਰਾ ਆਰਾਧਿ ਬਿਖਮ ਦਲੁ ਫੋੜੀਐ ॥
ਹਉ ਤਿਸੁ ਅਗੈ ਦਿਨੁ ਰਾਤਿ ਰਹਾ ਕਰ ਜੋੜੀਐ ॥੧੫॥
- SGGS 522
Even brave and mighty men cannot withstand the powerful and
overwhelming army which the five passions have gathered.
The ten organs of sensation attach , even detached renunciates to sensory pleasures. Those these make attached, ever seek sensual pleasures.
The world of the three dispositions is under their influence;
no one can stand against them.
How can the great illusion of Maya like the moat around be broken?
In the Perfect Guru’s (
described) way ,
do Worship and break this awesome forceful collection.
Day and night live with HIM (God in mind), to attach with HIM.
- SGGS 522
The obstructions are forceful, very strong.The pleasure of Kama is short lived but has strength enough to setaside all the minds objections. The Anger stays for some times and ever demans that the life do their bidding.It rises when ever desired outcome or behviour is not their.The greed with the humans even longer . The desire for more directs our actions.The attachment is even subtler and grows ever stronger as one lives.The ahankar (egoity) is a very very stubborn hindrance.

The effect of the five and sensual pleasures is to keep our awareness involved in the outer world and worldly affairs.This is part of the great illusion and the the great play that this world is.
As large are the worldly attractions and engrossments so also are a varity of ways towards self –realization. The realization of our origin and our true nature. In some of these powerfully propogated ways the effect of maya and misdirection is there. Only by following the path described by a Perfect Guru that the viel of illusion is broken .
The way and means that SGGSji presents to the Gursikh is there right in the beginning. In Japuji Saheb Guruji answer as below :
ਕਿਵ ਸਚਿਆਰਾ ਹੋਈਐ ਕਿਵ ਕੂੜੈ ਤੁਟੈ ਪਾਲਿ ॥
ਹੁਕਮਿ ਰਜਾਈ ਚਲਣਾ ਨਾਨਕ ਲਿਖਿਆ ਨਾਲਿ ॥੧॥
So how can you become truthful?
and how can the veil of illusion be torn away?
It is by walking the path of ‘ Hukam Razazi’
Says Nanak, that is inscribed(meaning is ordained).
- SGGS 1
To explain further the way of ‘Hukam Razazi’ , the Guru ji in the next very lines explained the Hukam .
ਹੁਕਮੀ ਹੋਵਨਿ ਆਕਾਰ ਹੁਕਮੁ ਨ ਕਹਿਆ ਜਾਈ ॥
ਹੁਕਮੀ ਹੋਵਨਿ ਜੀਅ ਹੁਕਮਿ ਮਿਲੈ ਵਡਿਆਈ ॥
ਹੁਕਮੀ ਉਤਮੁ ਨੀਚੁ ਹੁਕਮਿ ਲਿਖਿ ਦੁਖ ਸੁਖ ਪਾਈਅਹਿ ॥
ਇਕਨਾ ਹੁਕਮੀ ਬਖਸੀਸ ਇਕਿ ਹੁਕਮੀ ਸਦਾ ਭਵਾਈਅਹਿ ॥
ਹੁਕਮੈ ਅੰਦਰਿ ਸਭੁ ਕੋ ਬਾਹਰਿ ਹੁਕਮ ਨ ਕੋਇ ॥
ਨਾਨਕ ਹੁਕਮੈ ਜੇ ਬੁਝੈ ਤ ਹਉਮੈ ਕਹੈ ਨ ਕੋਇ ॥੨॥
- SGGS 1

As is HIS Command, the shapes are created;
HIS Command (in operation everywhere) cannot be said to be so.
As is HIS Command, the souls come into being;
As is His Command, the glory and greatness are obtained.
As is HIS Command, some are high and some are low;
As is HIS Command,the pain and pleasure are obtained as is inscribed (karma).
As is HIS Command, some are blessed
and as is HIS Command, some keep wandering.
Everything is subject to HIS Command; nothing is outside HIS Command.
Says Nanak, one who understands the riddle of HIS Command,
does not speak of ego (separate existence).
- SGGS 1
The Hukam and Hukami (giver of command) are together in this world. The creator is everywhere unseen and so is the command unobserved. It is by the Guru’s way that this realization dawns and transformation comes about. This is the way viel is broken light of being jyote swarope shines.

The Gurmukh when see the world then the creator is felt in the creaton .The Hukam behind working of the world is felt to be there.The Gurmukh feels HIS presence. Gurmukh then says in recognition
‘ Tuhi (that’s YOU), Tuhi , Tuhi, Tuhi, Tuhi ,Tuhi ,Tuhi ,Tuhi ,Tuhi ,Tuhi, Tuhi ,Tuhi …..’.

It is when the Gurmukh gets imbued with the Naam-Rang (color of Naam) then the awareness is ever within and without. In this state the focus of awareness operates from within.Everything is done in Naam-Rang.The viel is broken.

In such a state how can the five trouble the Gurmukh. How also can the sensual pleasures be enticing.

The path of Guru Nanak Dev ji is that of faith. To walk the way of Hukam razai is to be in the present. In acceptance of What is withot any resistance and judgement.The Hukam is seen to be prevailing and the Creator is seeneverywhere , in every thing and within too by keeping the individual self assertion aside.
This fact is ever asserted through reciting and singing of gurbani. The Simran is to ever remember HIM ; feel HIM .

First is acceptance that what Guru tells is Sach (truth) , next what the Guru says is then experienced.

The Kachehra is for following a path that truly liberates Sikh from the control of sensual pleasures and the army of the Five. The Gurmukh then lives in this world always getting out of the grip of these untouched.

The power of five kakars

The tenth master, Guru Gobind Singh ji at a special congregation at Anandpur on Vaisakhi Day, 30 March 1699 created Khalsa making it the culmination of about 240 years of training given by the ten Gurus to their Sikhs. The Guru wanted to create a way for sikhs to be pure (khalsa) ever in future. The khalsa is a combination of devotion (Bhakti) and strength (Shakti).
The Khalsa was to be of high moral character,strong, courageous, learned and wise. His character would be strengthened by recitation and singing of Gurbani. The khalsa is meant to walk the earth with virtue and courage to stand against exploitation, self-defence and protection. The Khalsa is to live an householders life and has to have a strength for overcoming hurdles through his daily life with Waheguru. His spirit will continue to inspire them for the preservation of peace, order and dignity of mankind for all time to come.

The Sikh is initiated in the Khalsa path through a ceremony of ‘Amrit Sanchar’ through the drinking of the Amrit or the Nectar. The Amrit is administered in the presence of Sri Guru Granth Sahib ,the 11th eternal Guru by the five Sikhs, representing panj pyaras, The Sikhs being initiated then adorn the five kakars . These kakars are Kesh , Kanga, Kara ,Kirpan and Kachera.

These blessed kakars were selected and ordained by Guru Gobind Singh ji for ever being adorned by the Khalsa. What power does these have. These have a power that works in a mysterious way by keeping the Khalsa on a right path to attain a pure , pious spiritual life which according to the Guru Granth Sahib. These have an external as well as special significance.